Janaki is a design leader by day and artist by night. Although she trained in art in her teens, she lost touch with it when she entered her professional life and her world became increasingly digital. A few years ago, she started painting again to find balance in her life and to get back in touch with her creativity.



Her artworks are painted prayers. They are meditations on peace and presence. They help calm her mind and she hopes they will do the same for you.


Rise Above

Acrylic on canvas

12” x 12” - 7 panels

6" x 6" - 14 panels

Just as the lotus rises above murky waters and grows towards the light, we too can rise above our fears, anxieties and insecurities, and manifest our best selves using one of the following seven mindfulness attitudinal practices:




Beginner's mind 




Letting go 


In this artwork series, the 7 attitudinal practices are represented by the 7 background colors - red, purple, pink, blue, brown, green and yellow. The lotus represents the self, and the murky waters represents our everyday stresses and negative emotions. The dragonfly symbolizes change, transformation, adaptability, and self-realization. The frog signals time for rebirth and renewal. The goal of this artwork is to gently remind the viewer to rise above.